Public Service Announcement

Most of you here also read Larry‘s blog.  For those few who may not, please see this.  He says it much better than I could.  It could have been you.  Consider helping out.

I had planned to.  I addressed the envelope, wrote the note, and was looking for my stamps.  Then I read a different news story.  I says pretty much the same thing, with one exception.  He played the race card:

“I went to jail for one reason and one reason only,” he said. “I’m a black man. James Ludwick is a white man. I think the police had a preconceived notion in their head as to what went on.”

He might be right.  How else do you explain the arrest and subsequent charging of someone who shot an obvious aggressor, after warning him prior to doing so, particularly when said aggressor had 2X+ the BAC  to be considered legally drunk?

I’m not a minority.  I don’t know what it’s like.  Regardless, use of the race card always leaves a bad taste in my mouth.

I’ll probably still send what I had planned to send before learning this.  He’s been through hell, and deserves some help.  But for the grace of God, it could have been me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Public Service Announcement

  1. Larry says:

    I was worried he would throw the race card and hopeful that he wouldn’t.

    Regardless of what he thinks, he was targeted by a non-gun friendly persecutor for the crime of being legally armed. Hopefully in time he will realize this.

    • alaskan454 says:

      I’ve known many in the negro community who frequently threw out the race card, and honestly believed what they were saying. I’m not saying that such behavior does not happen – I’m sure that it does. I just don’t believe that it is nearly as common as some believe that it is. We’re not living in 1960’s Mississippi.

      From what I’ve seen, that idea is so deeply ingrained into the psyche that they seem to reach that conclusion before and above all other possibilities. Anyone with a lighter complexion is an ignorant idiot for believing otherwise, because, “We’ve never been there, so we couldn’t know”. I’m not saying that Mr. Lewis has any such beliefs, but many do.

      As you said, I firmly believe that he was targeted for having the audacity to refuse to be a victim. That is why I decided to go ahead and send my donation, in spite of his statement.

Leave a Reply

