‘Scuse Me Whilst I Whine a Bit

Not much to report today.

I’m still trying to choose a scope for Annie.  I don’t want one that needs batteries, and I really liked the 40X on the POS Barska that I purchased initially.  I’m looking at a couple that max out at 32X, and am also considering a couple with lighted reticles, but I’m far from a decision.

I found nothing amiss with the HiPoint.  I did notice that when stripping the rounds from the magazine, they tend to nosedive, which would explain the feed problem.  I just can’t figure out why it is happening, or what I can do about it.

I dream, but I seldom remember snippets, much less details, after I wake.  Last night, I remembered a couple flashes.  I was somewhere with a dark-haired lady, in whom I had a romantic interest.  The gist of a conversation that we had was that there was mutual interest, but we were concerned that we didn’t know each other well enough to embark on whatever we were preparing to do together.  I have no idea who the lady was, or what we were planning to do together.  (It wasn’t that kind of a dream, you perverts!)  I mention it only because it is so rare that I remember anything.

I got into it a little with Roomie this morning before she left to go where ever she was going today.  It wasn’t one of our normal “knock down, drag out” sessions, but was annoying.  It seems that I used a few plastic storage bags (ziploc-esque, but made by Hefty) that she supposedly told me at some point that she wanted to save for, well, something.  She moved them from the place where we normally keep said bags, and asked that I refrain from using those particular ones in the future. She took a box of the ones that I am permitted to use from the pantry and put them where the other box was.

That brought up the pantry.  While Wifey and The Boy were here, our tiny pantry became overloaded.  To relieve some of the capacity issues, I moved extra items to the garage.  Roomie commented today that this annoyed her, particularly since, at least in her eyes, it was no longer necessary.  It must be too inconvenient for her to walk out there to the half of a shelf on one of the plastic shelving units where everything is to look for something.  She didn’t say.  I had been moving things back into the pantry as we ran out of them, and I told Roomie as much.

I suggested that she move everything back into the pantry immediately, and organize it to her liking, since it was bothering her so much.

No.  You moved it to the garage, you can put it back in the pantry and organize it yourself.

Here is where I dropped the conversation.  It was getting very close to detonation level, over something that wasn’t worth it.  Like normal.  I wanted to ask why I needed to move everything back.  It isn’t like I hid the shit.  She knows where everything is if she needs something.  Plus, the fact that it is out there doesn’t bother me a fucking bit.  Whatever!

I got an e-mail from Wifey this morning.  It was the first communication since she returned home.  Basically, she repeated the same things that she said the morning that she left.  Pretty much “thanks” and “I’m sorry”.  Whatever.  She made her choice.  I may or may not bother to write back.

I’ve had a few ladies from blog-land on my mind the last day or so.  I’ve continued my journey through Erin‘s archives, and get to know her better with each post that I read.  I learned that her birthday is in about three weeks. She’s quirky, perhaps even a little weird in some ways, but in a way, I wish I still lived in the Sunshine State.  Maybe she’d let me buy her lunch sometime.  Probably not, but I’d ask anyway.

I’ve wondered how A Girl‘s training is going.  She posted a pic on her FB page an hour or so ago, and it would appear that she is doing well.  I’m looking forward to meeting her and Mr. A Girl at the ‘seed event next month.

I’ve also thought about AKGRRRL, wondering if she’s frozen to death, and if she hasn’t, how her GED studying is going.

OK, enough blabbering for now.  Y’all have a good one!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to ‘Scuse Me Whilst I Whine a Bit

  1. Al Cooper says:

    Your relationship with “roomie” is not my business and you should do what you want.
    I do want to give you my opinion concerning “roomie”.
    I think you are being used. She does not care where things are stored.
    She is trying to control you and has no interest in what you feel or want.
    I do not understand your relationship with “roomie” but I can tell you that “roomie” and I would not be able to coexist.

    • alaskan454 says:

      I don’t disagree with your assessment. The only reason why I’m still sharing a roof with her is because the roof is both nice and paid for, and we both have an ownership interest in it. For now, it’s easier to put up with her occasional shit than it would be to find a new place to stay and the money to pay for it.

  2. Erin Palette says:

    A little weird? I’m a LOT weird! 😀

    Sure, I’d let you buy me lunch! We could go to the Ale House and eat steaks while critiquing the waitresses. 😉

    • alaskan454 says:

      I’m weird. A completely different brand than your weirdness, but definitely weird, nevertheless. My statement was comparative, not absolute. 🙂

      I’m definitely up for some waitress critiquing. I normally visit your area a couple times a year. Maybe we could do lunch the next time I’m in town? We can do the Ale House, if you’d like that. I’ve never been to the one there, and I’ve never been to the one here during lunch. The food was good, but it was a bit loud, as sports bars tend to be. (Damn, that makes me sound really old, doesn’t it? Sorry.)

  3. Critter says:

    best fix for the hipoint? use as a door stop.

    • alaskan454 says:

      That wasn’t very nice. Accurate, perhaps, but not very nice. It ran good at first, so I know that it can. I can’t afford a “good” 45 at the moment, but I want something that can shoot 45.

      • mortalis09 says:

        For what it’s worth if you can afford the postage Hi-Point will fix it for free and give you a new mag in addition to repairing the existing ones. Worth a shot if nothing else.

      • alaskan454 says:

        That’s right, they do have a lifetime warranty. If they’re known for handing out extra mags with a warranty repair, I’ll have to send it to them. It damn sure isn’t doing me any good sitting on my desk in pieces. Thank you for the reminder.

  4. I have wondered how you have been as well. Now, I know, a little.

    Training went well and Mr. AGirl and I can not wait to meet you too!!

  5. mortalis09 says:

    and yes i have a highpoint although it’s their 995 carbine

Leave a Reply

