Five Gun Meme

There’s this meme that’s been making the rounds of the gun blogosphere for a while. One is supposed to list the five guns that they would buy if money were no object. Since nobody has pissed me off badly enough recently to prompt one of my trademarked tirades, I reckon I’ll do the meme.

I will limit my list to guns that are legal for purchase by us mere civilians peasants, of course.

Number one I’ve already mentioned, but I’ll list it again.  Barrett M82A1 semiautomatic rifle chambered in 50BMG.  I have no need for such a thing, and it is the one and only caliber that is forbidden at my range, but I’d still love to have one.

Number two would be a Springfield M1A SOCOM 16.  My current Evil Black Rifle is an AR-15 chambered in 6.8 SPC.  I wanted something with more ass than the standard poodle round (5.56×45/.223) but couldn’t afford the aforementioned Springfield at the time I made the purchase.

Number three would have to be a Les Baer Stinger 1911.  I’m not a big 1911 person, but I briefly owned a Colt Officers model.  I doubt that I’d carry it regularly, but I’d still like to have one.  As with Evil Black Rifle/Main Battle Rifle, everybody needs to own at least one 1911.  And Les Baer makes the best 1911s available. Period.

Number four I guess would be a Smith & Wesson 360PD revolver.  I owned a 340PD several years ago, and while I loved the weight (who wouldn’t love 357 magnum power in a package that only weighs twelve ounces unloaded?), I missed having an external hammer.

Number five.  Well, I really don’t know.  While I don’t have that many guns, my needs are pretty well taken care of.  I have a shotgun, a 22 rifle, a 22 pistol (actually a conversion for my Glock 20), an evil black rifle chambered in a caliber that will easily take most game animals in my area, full-size and compact carry pistols, and my favorite, the Ruger Alaskan 454.

Truth be told, I am seriously considering the purchase of a moderate range, large game rifle.  When I say large game, I am talking about North America, not Africa.  I don’t hunt, and I don’t anticipate ever doing so unless circumstances insist.  However, I’d like to have the option.

I would like to learn to shoot sub-MOA groups at 300 yards (the longest distance currently available to me), and know that I could repeat the performance at over three times that distance.  I see it the same as having a mega-horsepower sports car.  One will probably never truly need to drive 150 miles per hour, but knowing that one has the ability, should the need arise, is a good thing.

Considering my champagne Barrett taste/beer Savage budget, this is what I’m looking at:

It is a Savage 111 Long Range Hunter chambered in 338 Lapua Magnum.  Yes, 338.  I know I just mentioned my budget.  Yes, I know that ammo runs in the neighborhood of seven dollars per round.  That is why I must buy a gun for a thousand dollars, instead of several thousand dollars.  So I can afford to shoot the damn thing.

Sadly, I will have to work the better part of an hour to earn enough money for each squeeze of the trigger.  Rumor has it that the thing kicks like a fucking Clydesdale, even with the muzzle break and recoil pad, so I probably won’t shoot it all that much.

It will easily take any legal game animal on the continent at a thousand yards, assuming that I can make the shot, and it could serve other useful purposes in a TEOTWAWKI scenario.  And I want one.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five Gun Meme

  1. Larry says:

    “I want one” is a perfectly reasonable explanation.
    I want an M1A also, but I’d like to have the traditional blued steel and wood furniture.
    My list is here. http://lastrefugeofascoundrel.blogspot.com/2011/09/guns-i-want.html
    There are more than five.

  2. Critter says:

    about the only thing i can think of that i haven’t either bought at some time in the past and sold or currently own is a custom Mauser rifle, made to my specs. 8mm just to be difficult. and a high dollar Leupold on top.

Leave a Reply

