Hmmm…

Y’all have me questioning a long-held truism:

The vast majority of those who call themselves homo sapiens are worthless, opportunistic, parasitic, evil scum, and should be avoided an nearly all costs.

Sean got me to thinking about it last month when he came out to my home range to shoot for his birthday.  We were talking politics, and although I do not remember my comment verbatim, I said something along the lines of, “People are inherently evil, and only the threat of negative consequences (and our consciences for those few who actually possess such things) are all that keep nearly every one of them/us from all manner of evil actions.”

But you didn’t hesitate to meet with some random guy from the internet, who you knew would have at least one, probably two guns in his possession.  

It was a statement, not a question.   In fairness, although we had never met in person prior to that day, he had attended a TigerSwan class with one of only two people alive that I would trust with my life or any worldly possession, without question or hesitation, and said friend did not find the need to shoot him (Sean).

I don’t remember exactly how I responded, because he had got me to thinking.  The fact that Larry had met him, the fact that I was also carrying two guns of my own, the fact that I had no intention of giving him cause to use either of his guns on me, and a myriad of other thoughts came to mind.  How many of those exited my mouth is an unknown.

I didn’t think much more about it until very recently.  I know that people are evil and should be avoided, so despite possible evidence to the contrary, I maintained my belief.

Then something very interesting happened.  An amazing lady, whom I have never met, found this blog and linked it, numerous times, along with some very flattering comments.  Those of you who have read more than one or two of my posts know that I spill my guts here from time to time.  I bare my soul regularly.  Too Much Information is standard fare.

I’m having a rough time on the domestic front at the moment,  and said Amazing Lady, better known as A Girl and Her Gun, AKGRRRL, and several other people have all offered support, advice, kind words, and more.

One kind Olde Phart (as he called himself) even offered to send me some knives that he no longer had any use for, when he read my post lamenting about my lack of success in that department.

Gun folks are generally decent people.  But they are still people.  And people are bad, right?  Otherwise, why am I the reclusive curmudgeon that I most certainly am?   Why do I shun human contact outside my circle of trust?  I’m a logical person.  I do some stupid shit from time to time, sure, but everything I do makes sense at the time I do it.

Or does it? Or am I just a chickenshit, afraid of his own shadow?

No, that’s not it.  I’m not afraid of people.  I just don’t like them.  Or do I?

I’ll be damned if I know.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hmmm…

  1. agirlandhergun says:

    I know you are still working out how you feel about people and that’s ok, that’s good, but I can tell you, I like you. You are such a refreshing part of my day…honest, true, raw, kind, yep, your good people.

  2. alaskan454 says:

    Thank you! I like you, too. I’d try to tell you all the reasons why, but after the first dozen or so, I imagine I’d have raised Mr. A Girl’s ire a bit.

    • Akgrrrl says:

      I wouldn’t say I dislike people, I’d say I distrust them. I think “hate” or “evil” are strong words. My view of evil people are serial killers, rapists or child molesters. I view most people first at suface value. Most want something from you or as I call them sponges. But, when you come across someone who wants nothing from you and actually offers something without nothing in return, that’s rare, for me anyway. That’s how I pick and choose who I let close. That is why I admire A Girl With a Gun, she has offered her experiences, her heart, and expected nothing in return. Yet she has gained so much knowledge from people who are just like her:) I believe what comes around goes around. And water finds it’s own level, I believe this is how we have all come to meet ( Internet wise ).

  3. skidmark says:

    If you don’t “don’t like people”: then there is something significantly wrong with you. I absolutely abhore people; there are a small number of persons that I actually like, and a somewhat larger number of persons that I do not consider to be at best, come the apocalypse, barter material. But “people”? Walking long pork, unless you are seriously worried about zombies.

    So why have you gone and knotted up your panties for being both smart enough and honest enough to say you don’t like people? Do you have the same problem with lima beans? (I lurvs me some lima beans – seems lots of other people do not – but will not go near a grape until it has been dessicated into a raisin. Go figure.) There are scads of good reasons not to like people, but I don’t like grapes “just because”. It’s a good enough reason for me, and if some grape-lover is unhappy about it they can – well, you fill in the blank.

    stay safe.

    • alaskan454 says:

      Tell us how you really feel about people, skid. I’m right there with you. Sometimes I just wonder why I feel the way I do. Not that the “why” matters.

Leave a Reply

