Damn, I’m Famous

Thanks to the awesome lady over at A Girl and Her Gun, who is now half of my blogroll, I went from three readers and well under a hundred total page views since I started this blog over a year ago, to 221 views yesterday alone.

Color me shocked.  Hell, my scribblings are little more than profanity-laden vitriol, mixed in with the boring and often pathetic details of my life.

For the record, my three readers were my sister, my best friend in the world, and a very good friend from whom time and life have separated me geographically.  Not exactly a discerning audience.

As I wrote in my first post, and have repeated many times since then, I write this blog as a personal outlet.  I enjoy writing, and I like to think that I don’t suck terribly at it.  However, I never wrote anything with the expectations that anyone outside of my very small circle of friends/family would ever see it, much less have a positive opinion of anything here.

Since a few folks have recently found their way here, I want to thank all of you.  Take a look around.  If you like what you read, stick around.  There will be more of the same to come.  If not, thanks for stopping by and have a pleasant trip elsewhere around the intertubes.  According to my sister, who couldn’t possibly be biased in any way, my best story is here.

I have a few posts that I’m working on, but nothing ready quite yet.  Sometimes I will post daily, or nearly so.  Other times, I may go a week or two between posts.  I promise, what you find here will be worth at least half what you paid for it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Damn, I’m Famous

  1. Akgrrrl says:

    I’m going to love reading your stuff lol.. Seems like you shoot from the hip:)

  2. Al Cooper says:

    The book “To Ride, Shoot Straight, and Speak the Truth” by Jeff Cooper
    is one of my favorites.
    I do all three. Sometimes number three requires “strong language”.
    I am glad to learn that you do not bend to the political correctness bull shit.
    Use whatever words you want.
    I think I will like it here.

    • alaskan454 says:

      Welcome, Al. I’ve heard a lot of good things about the late Colonel Cooper, but (and it shames me to admit this, being both a gun person and semi-avid reader) I’ve never read any of his books. I’ve been a bit limited for the last several years, due to funds – or lack thereof. He’s definitely on my list, and I appreciate the reminder.

      I will continue to be myself. You’re welcome to hang out as long as you’d like. Thanks for the visit and comment.

  3. Brian In Florida says:

    A Girl and Her Gun sent me here as well, and I must say.. as one Grumpy Bastard to another.. I am going to enjoy visiting and occasiopnaly spouting off in comments. Thanks.

    • alaskan454 says:

      Welcome, fellow Grumpy Bastard, and thanks for the visit. I appreciate the time you took to read and comment. Feel free to do so as often as you’d like.

  4. Critter says:

    Where’s the beer?

    • alaskan454 says:

      It’s in the fridge, way back in the back. It’s probably stale and not fit to drink, though – sorry. I finished the fresh 6-pack the other night, and may not develop the urge for another one for several months. Or I may have six more on my next day off.

      Thanks for stopping by. You’re welcome to stay as long as you’d like.

  5. agirlandhergun says:

    Being who you are, authentically, not caring who reads or doesn’t, that is what is appealing. You are exactly who I come here to read and so does everyone else. I am so looking forward to learning more about you, profanity and all.

    • agirlandhergun says:

      Plus, of course, you are so gosh darn(that’s me cussin) funny.

    • alaskan454 says:

      Thanks again for all the referrals. I’m humbled by all the folks who have shown up, and the many who have taken the time to comment.

      Being me, I’ll probably have to remind myself not to tailor what I write with my new audience in mind. I’m an asshole, true enough, but I don’t want to intentionally offend anyone in particular, jut the public in general.

  6. Larry says:

    Don’t tailor anything to anyone. It’s your place, write what you like how you like.

  7. Critter says:

    STFU and write. *man punch to the shoulder* where’s the pretzels?

    • alaskan454 says:

      Bring your own damn pretzels. Ya want me to provide everything. What the fuck, are you a democrat, or something?

      Got a couple more posts fermenting, but work gets in the way. Gotta keep the lights on and the taxes paid somehow.

  8. agirlandhergun says:

    Don’t you dare tailor your posts!! Don’t tame them down or embellish them. You are perfect! I love coming here. I would hate to see anyone else show up, but you.

    • alaskan454 says:

      I won’t do it on purpose. I promise. It’s just that before anyone knew I existed, I could share the most personal things with the entire Internet, yet know that nobody would ever really see any of it. Please bear with me while I adjust to the new (and quite nice) reality that a handful of folks will actually read it.

Leave a Reply

