Update

I haven’t written one of my normal updates in a while, and I guess now is a good of a time as any to rectify that.

I managed to get an unscheduled two-week vacation, starting last Monday. I ripped a 2″+ gash in the bottom of my left hand, deeply enough to require a trip to the ER for stitches. The local Urgent Care place took one look, wrapped it up and sent me to the hospital. No, I’m not going to tell you how it happened, so don’t ask. Since it did not happen at work, I’m liable for the bill. I have no idea how much that is going to be. Anybody wanna buy the 20 oxycodone pills that they prescribed? I didn’t need them. (Just kidding. I didn’t need them, but they aren’t for sale. I’d really prefer to avoid a stay at the local Greybar Motel.)

We had another two litters of bunnies about two weeks ago. Bonnie had six and Miss P. had eight. As has become the norm, Bonnie’s kits are well cared-for, healthy and growing quickly. Miss P. volunteered to become rabbit stew, as I once predicted. Her nest was not as well constructed, but the kits appeared normal for the first few days. However, before the week was out, she had again neglected them and on one particularly cool, rainy morning, I found them all dead. She won’t get another chance. She’ll be dinner some time in the next couple weeks.

I got married for the fourth time a little over two weeks ago. I expected some strong reactions from some of my family. I knew that one of my sisters was going to slap me, and I expected some smart remarks from at least one of my brothers. I wasn’t disappointed. What I didn’t see coming were serious comments saying that I am insane, and in need of psychiatric help. More than one person who expressed similar sentiments. I imagine that there are more folks who think the same, but didn’t bother to say anything.

I understand that it may appear that I do not take marriage seriously. I am on wife #4. However, I have taken the vows, including the “until death do us part” phrase, extremely seriously.

Every.

Single.

Time.

That includes the most recent trip down the aisle.

I’m not normally one to require validation for my actions from others. For the most part, I don’t give two shits what anyone else thinks or says. However, there a few folks whose opinions do matter to me. If I’m being an idiot, and someone I respect points that out to me, I appreciate it. However, when I’m called out for something, and I have no idea what I’ve done wrong, it’s confusing and somewhat painful.

I understand the logic behind the recommendation that I find an independent woman without children (or with grown children) who does not need for me to support her. I do work part-time at BigBoxRetailer. Such is not the most effective means of support for a family. I expect to be called an idiot when I ignore this advice. I know that my lack of reluctance to say “I do” makes me the joke of the family. I’m fine with that.

But does all this really make me seriously insane? All I want is to share the rest of my life with someone who really loves me, and who wants to be with me as more than a friend. I know that my methods of accomplishing this goal are unorthodox, at best. I know that to date, I have failed. Maybe I’m destined to be alone. Perhaps I should just give up. However, I refuse to do that.

I honestly believe that Wifey is “the one”. We have communication challenges that we must overcome, and we are still adapting to life together. We have already experienced differences of opinion. However, she wants to be with me. She enjoys my company. She makes me happy. There is nothing that she can’t or won’t do. She can squeeze a penny so tight that it turns into miles of thin copper wire. She appreciates the simple things in life, and asks for little. She makes the simplest dishes taste amazing. In the TMI category, she is by far the best lover I had – something that I did not learn until after we exchanged our vows. I know that waiting is no longer popular, but I’m glad that we did.

I haven’t spent much time in front of a computer or TV the last few weeks. For example, most of today consisted of putting together a jigsaw puzzle with my wife and son. I’d like to apologize to those of you who rely on me to gift items on Frontierville or Farmville. I’m sorry that it might take me a couple days to take my turn in Scrabble. I’m busy with life, and having a wonderful time.

In short, I’m happy. I’ve spent over forty years on this spinning dirtball, most of that time searching for what I now have. I’ve had it briefly a few times in the past, but was never able to hang onto it. I have it now, and I’m going to enjoy it for as long as it lasts – whether that is six months or six decades. I can take the ribbing, so bring it on. But if you seriously disapprove, that is your problem.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

