It Fucking Hurts

Alternate title: Reason # 14,788 why I’m a wimp.

I worked overtime today, performing maintenance on the line where I normally work.  Part of this maintenance involved removing twenty metal rectangular pieces from the tanks where they live.  These pieces are approximately one foot by three feet, and weigh roughly twenty pounds each.  They are involved in directing electrical current, so to perform properly, they need to be clean.  During operation, they collect a coating of various byproducts that accumulates a quarter of an inch thick, or more, by the time maintenance comes due.  Normally, one just scrapes them with a putty knife and returns them to the tanks.

Today, I decided that I couldn’t in good conscience ignore the buildup/corrosion that had accumulated like rust on both sides of every one of them, and wouldn’t scrape off.  So, after I scraped them as well as possible, I set out to remove said corrosion.  Over three hours and several sheets of scotchbrite later, they were clean and back in place.

And now I have this excruciating, dull, ache in my right tricep and forearm.  It started shortly before I finished the task.  I’ve taken the appropriate medication, but it did not help.  It doesn’t matter if I use the arm or not, the pain persists.

There is one small consolation, though.  Since it is my right arm, and I use my left to beat off with, my sex life is unaffected.

In other news, I stayed at the “under renovation” house last night.  Lowe’s has been trying to deliver the last back-ordered kitchen cabinet that I purchased back in December for the better part of a month.  I kept pushing the delivery date back, because either I’m working or it’s just too fucking cold to stay at the house.  Earlier in the week, the meteorological prognosticators predicted a low of 44 last night.  Knowing that I had to work today, but would have a flexible start time, and having already grown tired of rescheduling the delivery, I decided to make today work.

Well, the lying sacks of shit who said it wouldn’t get colder than the mid-40′s last night were wrong.  It got down to 36.  And it was raining.  So despite staying in the only room in the house that still has a door and a ceiling, and despite having two 1500W heaters within inches of my bed (that had been running all day), I froze my fucking ass off.  I will be SO glad when it warms up enough so that I can stay/work there without being hindered by the significant risk of hypothermia.  OK, so maybe hypothermia is a stretch, but it’s way too fucking cold to try to sleep or accomplish anything significant.

Yes, I’m a whiny little bitch tonight.  Deal with it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to It Fucking Hurts

  1. Craig says:

    Uh,,, my whole house is less than 600 square feet. 2 space heaters are my only source of heat…. not counting the Greyhound. This morning it was below zero. Nearly a foot of snow on the ground and another snow event coming monday. Ok…. I’ll confirm your “whiny bitch” comment. LOL….
    (all in good fun, old friend)

    • alaskan454 says:

      You may kiss my whiny little ass, my friend. Not all of us are insane enough to voluntarily live in an area where snow is routinely measured in feet and the mercury dips into the negative realm. Your blood has gelled by now, so you don’t notice the cold any more. Plus, I’m reasonably sure your walls do contain some insulation. Mine, at least those in that room, do not yet have such extravagant luxuries.

      Glad you’re still alive out there. Keep in touch.

  2. Craig says:

    ….Clarification…… “whiny LITTLE bitch.”

  3. Wraith says:

    Living in a travel trailer is annoying. Living in a travel trailer when the incompetent fuckheads at the power company shut off your electricity and it gets down to 14, makes for a bad night’s sleep and inspires some very inventive thoughts concerning torture techniques.

    You need a decent 3-season sleeping bag and more clothing, bro.

  4. Wraith says:

    I’d scope out your local surplus stores for milspec bags. If it’s a heavier bag than you need, you can always open it a bit.

Leave a Reply

